Haryana to take on Bihar in NTSN title clash

img_7266New Delhi, Sept 1: Bihar and Haryana secured contrasting victories over Madhya Pradesh and Jharkhand to set up the summit clash in the inaugural National Talent Search and Nurture football championship, conducted by the School Sports Promotion Foundation, here.

Bihar scrapped hard to beat a depleted but gallant Madhya Pradesh 1-0 while Haryana outwitted Jharkhand 5-1 in the semifinals at the Salwan Public School, Loni.  Arpit Kapil slotted home a penalty kick to help Bihar win its second match of the day, having beaten Rajasthan 4-1 in the quarterfinals that had been deferred to this morning because of Wednesday’s rain.

The talented duo of striker Rajat Rathi and gangling right winger Aayan Tyagi accounted for Haryana’s five goals. Rajat found the mark in the eighth minute with a first-timer from the edge of the box, a header in the 33rd and yet again in the 74th minute while Aayan Tyagi added to the tally in the 53rd and 67th minutes.

Samir Kiro found a consolation goal for Jharkhand seven minutes from the final whistle in a match in which Haryana controlled the pace of the game admirably and made use of the free-spaces that its creative mid-fielder Parvaz Gill opened up for the forwards. To be fair to Jharkhand, it was unable to find the wonted pace in the afternoon.

Earlier, in the quarterfinals, Bihar beat a talented Rajasthan squad 4-1, thanks to a hat-trick by Nishant Chandra (third, eighth and 43rd minute) and a 64t h minute strike by Saharsh Kumar. Shaurya Singh sought to keep Rajasthan afloat with a wonderful goal in the 34th minute but Bihar packed too many punches.

Samir Kiro (28th and 48th minutes), Jitender Mahato (50) and Raj Kishor (58) scored for Jhakhand in its quarterfinal win over Jammu and Kashmir.


Semifinals: Haryana beat Jharkhand 5-0; Bihar beat Madhya Pradesh 1-0. Quarterfinals: Jharkhand beat Jammu and Kashmir 4-0; Bihar beat Rajasthan 4-1.

Friday’s schedule: Third-place play-off: Jharkhand v Madhya Pradesh, 10-30 a.m.; Final: Haryana v Bihar, 1-00 p.m., DDA CWG Village Sports Complex, Akshardham.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. abhishek avi says:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

8 + 3 =