Telangana and Haryana set up quarterfinal clash

Odisha presses forward against Telangana in a crucial match.

Odisha presses forward against Telangana in a crucial match.

New Delhi, August 29: Telangana and Haryana today set up a quarterfinal clash in the National Talent Search and Nurture football championship being conducted by the School Sports Promotion Foundation (SSPF). Telangana kept spirited Odisha at bay for a 4-1 win in a crucial Group A clash while Haryana posted its second straight win, a 5-0 verdict over Uttarakhand to top Group C.

A brace each by Saif Hussain (19th minute and 40th) and N Naresh (35th and 45th minutes) set up Telangana’s victory over Odisha. Ajit Panyel scored Odisha’s consolation goal in the 53rd minute but it was too little reward for the bravehearts from Malkangiri district.

Haryana defeated Uttarakhand 5-0 for its second successive victory in the three-team Group C at the Salwan Public School ground in Loni near here. Aayan (16 and 27th minutes), Ishaan (42), Rajat (46) and Parwaz (50) scored for Haryana to ensure that it would top the group on the back of its victory over Madhya Pradesh on Sunday.

Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh will battle for the second spot in Group C and the right to take on Uttar Pradesh, which topped Group A with a 9-0 conquest of Maharashtra for its third successive win. Three goals each by Gaurav Rai (third, 33 and 47) and Rajat Singh (15, 25 and 28) featured in Uttar Pradesh’s win today. Arsh Ahmed (19), Pushpendra Saraj (26) and Kesh Bahadur Khatri (59) were the other scorers to see Uttar Pradesh top the group.

Jharkhand quelled Rajasthan’s challenge with a stunning 6-1 victory amid a sharp drizzle at the DPS Ghaziabad ground to take the pole position in group B. Jitender Mahato, Subash Saw and Samir Kiro pumped in goals in the first 12 minutes before Rajasthan could regroup itself through a goal from the penalty spot by Brighu Pal Singh. Anil Toppo, Jitender Mahato and Samir Kiro scored for Jharkhand in the second half.

Bihar announced its intent with an 8-0 conquest of Andhra Pradesh in Group D at the DPS Ghaziabad ground. Nishat Chandra (third and 44th), Faizan Arshad (sixth), Mayank Singh (eighth and 28th), Arpit (63), Priyanshu (64) and an own goal helped Bihar join Jammu and Kashmir as the two teams progressing to the knockout stage from the Group.

In a match of little consequence at DPS Ghaziabad, Karnataka beat Chhattisgarh 6-0, thanks to a triple strike by Koushik (second, fifth and 42nd), Abuzar (12), Imran (63) and an own goal. Karnataka finished third in Group B behind Rajasthan and Jharkhand.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 2 =