Suraj Vashisht and Priyansh Arya mastermind Delhi’s title victory

The Delhi team which won the NTSN cricket title

The Delhi team which won the NTSN cricket title

New Delhi, August 22: A captain’s knock of 88 (90 balls, nine fours, one six) by opening batsman Suraj Vashisht and Priyansh Arya’s brisk 72 (66 balls, five fours, two sixes) set the stage for Delhi’s 120-run victory over Uttar Pradesh in the National Talent Search and Nurture cricket championship final at the Bharat Nagar ground here today.

The 133-run second-wicket stand off 120 deliveries ensured that Delhi had the platform on which to build a big score after Uttar Pradesh won the toss and opted to bowl on what seemed a moist track. Delhi would have liked a bigger score than 236 for nine but seamers Vipul Krishna (City Montessori School, Lucknow) and Amaan Siddique (Suryansh Public School, Moradabad) claimed three wickets each and helped Uttar Pradesh check the home side.

Shourya Singh (DPS Janakipuram) waged a lone and long battle for Uttar Pradesh. Walking in to bat at nine for three in the fourth over after a double strike by Ikshit Nishal (Mount Abu Public Schoo, Rohini), he showed nerves of steel in making an unbeaten 64 (100 balls, seven fours). But that was not enough for the visiting team to chase down the asking rate of six runs an over.

The final brought the curtain down on the inaugural edition of the tournament conducted by the School Sports Promotion Foundation (SSPF). More than 750 schools from across the country took part in the tournament. Former India cricketer Chetan Sharma, Chairman of the SSPF Cricket Council and SSPF Chairman Om Pathak gave away the trophies in the presence of former India wicket-keeper Surender Khanna and former international umpire SK Bansal.

Special prizes:

Best batsman: Suraj Vashisht (Salwan Boys School, Old Rajinder Nagar, Delhi)

Best bowler: Prince Maurya (City Montessori School, Lucknow)

Player of the tournament: Priyansh Arya (Kulachi Hans Raj Model School)

Scores (final): Delhi 236 for nine in 40 overs (Suraj Vashisht 88, Priyansh Arya 66, Vipul Krishna three for 38, Amaan Siddique three for 42) beat Uttar Pradesh 116 for eight in 40 overs (Shouraya Singh 64 not out, Ikshit Nishal two for 11) by 120 runs at the Bharat Nagar ground.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. October 4, 2016

    Free Piano

    Hello 🙂 Your method of describing the whole thing in this paragraph is genuinely fastidious, every one be able to simply be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three + 7 =